Institutional Advisory Committee

Roles & Responsibilities

Institutional Advisory Committee – group comprised of recognized scientific leaders from the key stakeholder institutions to serve as essential communication conduits between the Director of Research Development and stakeholder institutions regarding the identification, evaluation and promotion of collaborative research opportunities.

They also provide technical input regarding the appropriateness, advisability, and timing of research initiatives, (including access to facilities and equipment, and staffing) and ensuring that these meet the overall KCALSI supported research initiative objectives.

Committee Members

Richard J. Barohn, MD

Professor and Chairman, Department of Neurology and Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Kansas Medical Center

View Bio »

John Colombo, PhD

Director, Schiefelbusch Institute for Life Span Studies, Interim Vice Chancellor for Research,
University of Kansas

View Bio »

Tom Curran, PhD, FRS

Executive Director and Chief Scientific Officer of the Children’s Research Institute
Children’s Mercy Kansas City

View Bio »

Peter K. Dorhout, PhD

Vice President for Research
Kansas State University

View Bio »

Lawrence A. Dreyfus, PhD

Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development
University of Missouri-Kansas City

View Bio »

Jim Gann EdD, MBA

Director of Business Engagement
University of Missouri

View Bio »

Edward R. O’Connor, PhD

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic and Research Affairs
Kansas City University

View Bio »

Mark Hecker, PharmD, MBA

Director of Research Administration
Truman Medical Centers

View Bio »

Timothy J. Pluard, MD

Medical Director
Saint Luke's Cancer Institute

View Bio »

John S. Stanley, PhD

Vice President of Emerging Programs

View Bio »